Sirloin Tips and Mushrooms

This recipe is very close to beef stroganoff that requires sour cream instead of whipping cream.

I usually make a double batch

1 1/4 pounds sirloin cut into 1/2″ cubes

3 T butter

1 T veg oil

1 clove garlic, minced or pressed

3/4 lb fresh mushrooms, sliced (or 1 large can of mushrooms, drained)

1/3 C beef broth or water

1/3 C dry red wine

1 1/2 t soy sauce

2 t Dijon style mustard

1 t cornstarch

1/2 C whipping cream

Brown the meat in 2 T of the butter and oil and the garlic. When done, remove to covered casserole in preheated 275° oven.

With remaining butter, cook mushrooms until soft. Add to meat and cook for 1 hour.

If using canned mushrooms, drain them and add just before serving.

Meanwhile, add broth, wine, and soy sauce to pan. Stir up brownings until reduced to a glaze. Blend the mustard, cornstarch and cream and add to pan. Boil until thick and smooth. blend with meat until heated through.

Serve with egg noodles

I add cornstarch as needed to make thick sauce. 1/4 C with 1/4 C water will thicken nicely.

I normally use an entire blue container of mushroom per 1 1/2 pound of sirloin.

If the meat is cooked longer, it will be more tender. A different cut of meat will require longer cooking time.

Alternate method:

Brown the meat the same way.

I use canned mushrooms, and drain them, saving the juice.

Add juice to pan with wine and soy sauce. I add enough water or beef (or chicken) broth to cover meat and simmer covered, for two hours.

I drain that and make add the whipping cream, Dijon and cornstarch to it and bring to boiling; adding more cornstarch (mixed with a little water) to gain desired thickness, then add meat back and heat through.

Note:

the original method is the best for flavor. I brown the beef first, and simmer it in a covered pan on the stove for a couple of hours. I then use the juices from that as the beef broth in the recipe. If I have broth, I’ll simmer the beef in that with water; otherwise just use water. I avoid using bouillon  cubes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment